Awards Committee


Program Description – The Awards Committee manages the BOMA Greater Dallas Lone Star Awards and TOBY Awards as well as planning and excecuting the Annual Awards Banquet & Ceremony. This Committee reports to the Board of Directors. 

Lone Star Awards
Dallas BOMA Greater Dallas Lone Star Awards honor those in commercial real estate who exemplify the highest levels of professionalism. Award categories are:
  • Senior/Portfolio Manager
  • Property Manager
  • Assistant Property Manager
  • Administrative Assistant
  • Chief Engineer
  • Assistant Chief/Lead Engineer
  • Building Engineer
  • Allied Member*
  • Committee Member*
  • Committee Chair*
  • Outstanding Committee*
  • Outstanding Member*
  • President's Award*
Committee Charge/Lone Star - The Awards Committee is responsible for overseeing all aspects of The Lone Star Awards, including award requirements, process for submission and judging of categories. The exception to this process are those awards above noted with an asterisk (*), which are reviewed and approved by the Board of Directors or the President.
TOBY Awards
The Outstanding Building of the Year (TOBY) was created in 1985 by BOMA International. This is the most prestigious and highly celebrated program of its kind in commercial real estate, recognizing quality in commercial real estate buildings and rewarding excellence in building management. 

Committee Charge/TOBY - The Committee is responsible for all aspects of managing the TOBY process at the local level and providing TOBY judges at the regional and international levels. Specific assignmentsinclude,but are not limited to:
  • Marketing the program to potential candidates;
  • Working with property managers to ensure correct information is submitted in a timely manner; and
  • Coordinating judges and their assignments at the local level.

Committee Composition – Membership on the Awards Committee is subject to the policies and procedures established by the Board of Directors.

  • The Committee should have between four and 10 members;
  • The Committee will have a chair and a co-chair;
  • It is preferable that both the committee chair and co-chair be real estate members;
  • Under no circumstances should both the chair and co-chair be an allied member; and
  • The composition of the committee must be at least 50% real estate and no more than 50% allied members.

Awards Chair - Susan Leinweaver, Physicians Realty Trust 
Board Liaison - Christy Walters, Duke Realty Corporation
Staff Liaison -  Colleen Bransford, BOMA Greater Dallas

Visit the Committee Home Page to download the current Leadership Directory (rosters).